5.7L Merc I/O Overheats at idle. Cools when running.

Snailman

Petty Officer 2nd Class
I'm not a mechanic... I don't know anything about engines and less about boats. My biggest problem is that I own a boat. She's a 21' Wellcraft with a 5.7L Mercruiser I/O.<br /><br />The engines cools just fine at speed but will begin to overheat when idling. I had a marine mechanic change the impeller for me but the problem seems to persist (albeit to a lesser degree).<br /><br />My next thing is going to be to change the thermostat (that I think I can do myself) but I'm told that it might be the thermostat housing!?<br /><br />I run the boat in saltwater but I flush the engine after every pull and I winterized it by draining the engine and then filling it with antifreeze.<br /><br />Responses to the board are great but if you'd like to e-mail responses that'd be fine too:<br /><br />snailman22030@comcast.net

Trent

Captain
Re: 5.7L Merc I/O Overheats at idle. Cools when running.

Most likely scale (rust) has built up in your manafolds and risers. Saltwater boats should have them replaced every 4-5 years.

Snailman

Petty Officer 2nd Class