1955 Fastwin Evinrude, good model/year?

Fiftyfivefloater

Seaman Apprentice
Greetings everyone! Newbie here.

I just recieved a '55 15HP Fastwin Evinrude outboard, along with a 14ft aluminum fishing boat, from my Dad. He bought it 5 years ago at a garage sale and just never did anything with it.

Is 1955 a good year for an Evinrude? Anything I should be looking out for in the way of potential trouble or spare parts to have on hand?

Removed cowling and have found what appears to be a brand new (or rebuilt to new like condition) carb/gaskets installed. Plugs are out of the box clean, have never been fired. Wiring, lines and gaskets all look good.

I have no experience with boat motors and so really don't have a clue as to if this motor is worth investing time/money to get it going again. I do know that I would want the pressurized fuel line conversion (to fuel pump) for safety reasons. But other than that I really have no idea or insights about vintage boat motors or how they perform.

If it is a reasonable motor I plan to use it with the fishing boat to make short 1/2 day fishing trips at some local lakes.

jbjennings

Captain
Re: 1955 Fastwin Evinrude, good model/year?

A '55 aquasonic is a nice motor. I don't know why you say you want the fuel pump for safety reasons unless you've read the absolute nonsense that's going around about the pressurized fuel tanks being "bombs". I use them regularly and they work great. The motor only puts about 8psi on the tank and the tank has a pressure release valve that prevents further pressure from building up. Any tank can be dangerous if the vent is clogged or closed. Modern tanks can build up a heckuva lot more than 8psi if the vent is closed and the tank is left in the sun.
If you don't have a good pressure tank, however, the conversion is a great way to go. I've done two of them and they work as expected.