Newbie here

cdndewey

Cadet
Hello folks

I'm recently retired and just purchased my first boat to do some fishing and exploring our coast. It's an 18 ft Starcraft with a Volvo 4 cyl I/O.It's in nice shape and I believe it will fit my needs perfectly. I haven't taken it out yet because I first have to get my boat operators permit.

I forgot to ask the fellow that I bought it from the year so I will get in touch with him later to see if he knows. If he doesn't know how would I go about finding out?

I'm sure I'll have lots more questions as I get to spend time on it.

Dewey

alldodge

Staff member
Howdy Dewey and :welcome: to iboats

I don't know where you live but not many places require a learners permit for a boat unless they are very young. Seeing your retired I don't think that is an issue

baldwibr

Petty Officer 2nd Class
Welcome!! Most boats built after 1972 will have a small metal plate or engravement on the back of the boat (on the transom) that is a serial code of letters and numbers called the Hull Identification Number (HIN). You can enter this code at the website below to decode the HIN to find out the manufacturer of the boat and the date and month it was made.

https://www.hindecoder.com/

Also, we like pictures on here so if you can post some pictures, we may be able to narrow the date of your boat based on particular features from your boat.

Last edited by a moderator:

cdndewey

Cadet
Welcome!! Most boats built after 1972 will have a small metal plate or engravement on the back of the boat (on the transom) that is a serial code of letters and numbers called the Hull Identification Number (HIN). You can enter this code at the website below to decode the HIN to find out the manufacturer of the boat and the date and month it was made.

https://www.hindecoder.com/

Also, we like pictures on here so if you can post some pictures, we may be able to narrow the date of your boat based on particular features from your boat.