1990 Maxum 1800 w/ Force 90- First boat and a lot of questions

Status
Not open for further replies.

BMW91

Cadet
Hello,

I recently bought my first boat. I'm new to boating and I have, well... a lot of questions. It was kind of an impulse buy. I found a boat on craigslist and bought it the same day. The interior needs to be redone, and the deck has to be replaced, engine runs etc. I believe I got a good deal. I paid $500 cash for the boat and trailer. Got clear titles for both in hand. I'm mechanically inclined so I'm prepared to do all the work myself. I've seen some trailers go for more than that with no papers, so I figured why not.

Anyway, to the point. I've been digging on the internet all day trying to find an owners manual for the boat with no luck. Can anybody point me in the right direction? I believe just having my hands on the manual would answer half the questions I got haha

I'm getting ready to pick the boat up sometime this week. The engine is on an angle, not straight down. It looks like raising and lowering it works on hydraulics. Is there any way I should secure the engine from hitting the ground while on my way home, or just leave it the way it is?

Engine; From what I've read on the internet, the Force 90 is a four-stroke engine. What is up with the "oil injection"? I've seen that phrase around the net and I can't figure out why a four-stroke would need oil injected into it... Can somebody please explain that?

I got a chance to learn a little bit about the cooling of those engines. The idea of using water to cool them is still pretty "new" to me. I figured they would just be equipped with a radiator like cars and most motorcycles. Doesn't that kind of cooling dramatically shorten the life of the engine (especially on salt water)?

I guess that is it for now... I'm gonna try posting a few pictures of the boat. Let me know what you think.

Thanks,
Jake

BMW91

Cadet
Re: 1990 Maxum 1800 w/ Force 90- First boat and a lot of questions