Taking the Bomber out Sat.

ninja500r

Seaman Apprentice
So I just joined the forum and I was amazed to find a Bomber thread! Well I have a 1987 Bomber Promaster II. It is in pretty good shape. My wife's parents gave it to us last year. They had for a while just sitting uncovered at their house. It needed a good buffing, which I did. It turned out pretty well. I used some 3M fiberglass restorer from Wal-mart. We ran it once last year and it ran OK for not having run in like three years. I found after the maiden voyage that the stator wires were pretty much shot, so I just replaced that Monday along with the rectifier. It has a 1986 Merc75 on it. It runs really well on the muffs at the house so we shall see. The trim motor is completely shot so that needs some help too. I ran it last time with the trim locked in one position. With my wife on the bow it did plane off OK. I think I might get a set of Smart tabs before I fix the trim because I know I will want them anyway and since they are going to cost a lot less than the trim motor I figure I'll try the tabs first and maybe I can put off getting the motor for a while. I am a law student so we don't have a lot of cash to throw around. Long post but I am interested in communicating with other bomber owners. So let's hear from you!!

ncdthree

Cadet
Re: Taking the Bomber out Sat.

Been a while since your post, but I though I'd at least say hello. I recently bought an '83 Bomber Commander 180. It runs good. It has a Mercruiser 470 in it. I just replaced the floor and now have some seats on the way. The project of cosmetics is almost done so I am looking forward to the upcoming season. Let me know how your Bomber is treating you if you still have it.

TojosMojo

Petty Officer 2nd Class