Fiberglass cracking around forward engine mount - big issue?

HRK

Seaman Apprentice
Looked at a very nice 19 today. I noticed some cracking of fiberglass around the area that the front motor mount bolts into the floor. Is this a common issue or is it indicative of major damage? Here's a photo, I circled the area of concern. Still felt hard to the touch, the area around the motor and mount was not soft as far as I could tell. Don't mind the belt hanging, it's just an extra belt he tied to the motor mount.
20160730_172209.jpg

Last edited:

Skribble

Cadet
It could go either way just from use and wear and tear or a weak spot. To be honest I'm a bit new to inboard boats but body work (fiberglass, gelcoat etc) I work with for a living. My opinion and from knowledge if possible remove the mount and check under it and around to see if it is weak in that area just from the vibrations and slight movement of the motor if nothing is weak then probably just cracked from age. To fix the cracking here if that is the case take an angle grinder or even about 80 grit sand paper and clear the area of the cracks so its bare fiberglass and you can run a layer of new to even it back sand with atleast 320 and paint. If you are able to get gelcoat even better even hull repair paste. My boat has the same kind of cracks around a couple tie offs and just where screws are holding the air vents

ziggy

Admiral
imho, i'd check to see if the ft. motor mount bolts tighten up. while there's not much wood in a Nineteen, there is wood right under the deck right below the ft. motor mount. it's what the ft. motor mount bolts secure too. if the boat has wet foam, or moister under the deck. that wood could become degraded. trying to tighten the ft. mount bolts may lead you to the answer as to weather that wood is intact.