Inherited Electrical Nightmare

Cofe

Lieutenant Commander
First off, I am working at a factory as a mechanical maintenance manager. I know enough about electronics to be dangerous, but I am not a licensed electrician.
Ok now for the rest of the story? I have been repairing minor electrical repairs on 480, 230, and 115 volt building systems. On a recent repair of two 230 volt receptacles, I noticed that someone had ?robbed? one leg and the ground of the 230 volts and ran it to a 115 volt receptacle. The 230 volt system is on a 50 amp breaker and there is not a breaker associated with the 115 volt add on. I reported these findings to factory manager and he just shrugged his shoulders and walked away. I am thinking of repairing this situation, but I feel that a licensed electrician should do the job, but the manager won?t allow for the added expense.
Should I just write this situation off?
Move up the chain of command and report this situation? ?which would make my job hell?
[FONT=&quot]What would you do?any suggestions?[/FONT]

86 century

Ensign
Re: Inherited Electrical Nightmare

That could be a big problem if someone got hurt by that circuit.

Personally I would disconnect the 110v part of the nightmare just to cover my own but.
Or install some type of circuit interrupter at the point they pulled the 110v off.

Tim Frank

Vice Admiral

First off, I am working at a factory as a mechanical maintenance manager. I know enough about electronics to be dangerous, but I am not a licensed electrician.
Ok now for the rest of the story? I have been repairing minor electrical repairs on 480, 230, and 115 volt building systems. [/FONT]

Assuming that you are not kidding....YOU HAVE GOT TO BE KIDDING. :eek::facepalm:
After describing a known significant code violation (at least in any jurisdiction that I am familiar with) you are putting both the company and yourself at risk of serious liability should the inevitable happen.:confused: