Racing stripes

sphelps

Supreme Mariner
The Admiral wants stripes on her new to her RT Durango . Thinking on a matte black dbl center stripe .
Anyone ever put a large vinyl stripe kit on before . I haven't ordered one yet . Just wondering how tuff a job it will be ..
Here is the subject .. And yes it's a blast to drive . :)
IMG_0836.JPG

southkogs

Staff member
Not so much hard as meticulous. Keeping the lines straight and keeping the vinyl from kinking is a little tricky.

I'm not very good at it, but can usually get the job done. I have one guy who worked for me who was pure genius at it ... going over places like your hood scoop and the windows are gonna' be a little tense. The good news is that outside of the loss of the graphic itself ... if you screw it up, you can pretty much peel it off and start over.

Grub54891

Vice Admiral
Never put a large one on, but I learned from someone who did to spritz a mild soap solution on the area, put the decal on and use a plastic squeegee to work the bubbles out or move the decal a bit. Try it on something else with some cheap dollar store decals first.

southkogs

Staff member
And watch a few YouTube videos too. The soap spritz helps, but so does prep work, a good burnishing tool and a few other tricks.

MRS

Commander
Call a paint and body shop see what they will do it for. If they do not get it right it is on them to make it right.
That is a nice looking vehicle looks fast.:car:

sphelps

Supreme Mariner
Call a paint and body shop see what they will do it for. If they do not get it right it is on them to make it right.
That is a nice looking vehicle looks fast.:car:

Its only the RT and not the SRT model . It does have a sport mode that is really fun to use .. It has the 5.7 Hemi .