Electrical Question

MTboatguy

Fleet Admiral
Hey guys, I am putting in a 240 volt forced air heater in the shop and what I want to do is wire the plug for it instead of a hard wire, it is a Cadet smaller 5000 watt forced air that I am putting a 30 amp cord on and then would like to wire a home run to the box through a thermostat and then to a plug that matches the cord on the heater, that gives me the ability to move about the shop, which is on about 400 SF.

Is is kosher to put the thermostat inline before the plug? it is a simple single pole line break bi metal T-stat, I can't think of anything that would become a problem, but figured I would check as I am not an electrician, I have done quite a bit of wiring over the years, but always like to double check.

Thanks.

alldodge

Staff member
I don't see an issue, only difference between this and base board heater is this moves around. Would want the heater to have a thermal limiter, but most do

I would use 4 blade twist lock plug with 10AWG cord.

Not an electrical either

MTboatguy

Fleet Admiral
I am using a dryer plug that locks in that has a 10/2 cord, which will be just as if I am hooking a dryer up, the plug will be a home run to the box on a 30 amp twin pole breaker, the heater has a limit switch build in and pulls just over 20 amps based on the documentation I received from Cadet.

Last edited:

alldodge

Staff member
The 10/2 with ground is old design for dryers, they all use 4 wire now. The ground and common separate at the breaker panel. Cadet does make a 5KW portable which uses 3 conductors, but in most cases this is designed to be double insulated.

https://www.lowes.com/pd/Cadet-5000-Watt-Portable-Electric-Garage-Heater-with-Thermostat/4712809

Don't know which you have but if its one that is mounted to the wall then this may not be the case. Guess I would look at the installation instructions. Which model is it?

alldodge

Staff member