Removing a broken exhaust stud

captmello

Captain
Hi Guys, I'm doing some repair work on my bobcat. It has a small kabota 3 cyl diesel. I found it has a broken exhaust manifold stud at the rear of the engine. It is not too difficult to get to, but space is limited. I have no experience removing old studs but I do have a few ideas of my own. The manifold is removed. The stud sticks out from the head about 3/16 of an inch and is about 1/4 inch in diameter.

My first inclination is to grind a slot in the end of the stud and try to unscrew it. I think i can fit my dremel in there to cut the slot. I'm wondering if i should heat the area around the stud before trying to unscrew it since I feel like I only have one chance and will either break it or get it to turn out. the other option would be to try to drill a hole in the stud and use an "easy out" extractor type tool to try to get it to unscrew.

Any advice is appreciated.

alldodge

Staff member
You do want heat, and the more the better. Get it hot and then put some candle wax on it.
If you can grab the end with some vise grips or something similar try it.
A welder is real handy for this. Take a washer and weld the washer over the stud, then weld a nut to the washer. All the welding heats its up good and it will unscrew. Used this same method removing a couple studs on my loader exhaust

Last edited:

Scott Danforth

Grumpy Vintage Moderator still playing with boats
Staff member
welding a nut onto the nub works 90% of the time.

I prefer to use a 50/50 mix of ATF and anti-freeze, or Kroil. PB blaster works about half of the time

weld on the nut, wait a minute, douse with the ATF/Acetone. wait about 2 minutes prior to adding heat again. re-heat with a torch, douse again, then simply back off the bolt.

the other 10% of the time involve colorful language, a center punch and a pile of drill bits and sometimes a helicoil

captmello

Captain