Any home-brewers here ?

jeff92799

Seaman Apprentice
Just curious. I'm just getting into it. I'm starting with a batch of hard cider because it is the least complex. Beer is next on my list. But the cider is super easy to make. Upon research on the net, and at a few local brew shops, there is people that go all out and have stills and stuff in their basements :D <br /><br />Anyone here whip up their own beers,wines etc ?? Any tips for a beginner? <br /><br />Oh and my cider recipe is as follows. <br /><br />5 gallons apple cider (fresh pressed) <br />2 lbs dark brown sugar<br />2 lbs honey<br />1 packet champaign yeast<br /><br />Basically just melt a gallon of the cider down with the sugar and the honey. Add it to the fermenter with the rest of the cider, let it sit one month, then bottle :) <br /><br />I'm interested to see how it comes out. It's supposed to be a rather strong recipe. Like, 10-11% alcohol :D

11 footer

Lieutenant
Re: Any home-brewers here ?

One of my uncles does it, he make's mostley beer.<br /><br />You have to remember that its very strong stuff when its done.<br /><br />I few kids that I go to school do it because they can't buy the stuff. You only need alittle to get drunk out of your mind.

tylerin

Commander

Many years ago. When you start hearing BOOM...BOOM...BOOM..BOOOOM .....grab a mop

jeff92799

Seaman Apprentice

Yeah i know its gonna be very strong. But i think it will be more of a sipping beverage than a "pound it down until your rocked" type deal :D <br /><br />And about the bottles exploding, I've been warned about that as well. I've heard that bottling too early will cause that. I think I'll be extra careful not to do that ;)

mattttt25

Commander