Wellington JackKnife Wakeboard / Bindings

300sflyer

Chief Petty Officer
Hey folks,

I'm brand new to wakeboarding. Recently I bought a new Wellington JackKnife wakeboard, with high wrap bindings.

http://www.wellingtoninc.com/watersports/wakeboard.htm

On the weekend the family and I were out in the boat, and wanted to try it out. The problem is, no one could get their feet into the bindings, as they seemed just way too tight. My daughter managed to get one foot in [ladies size 6] but she said it just felt much too tight, and did not bother with the second foot. She has done this a few times before, so I have to beleive her when she said it was just not right... Even getting her one foot back out was a real chore! I cannot image if she fell, and then the binding are suppose to release.... :eek:

The bindings are adjusted as large as they will go, and the manufacturer claims these bindings are good up to a mens size 12. I don't see how that would be possible... :confused:

Any possible suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

xjcj3a

Petty Officer 2nd Class
Re: Wellington JackKnife Wakeboard / Bindings

did you get the bindings wet before trying them on? use any kind of lubricant? sunscreen dish soap?

i know it takes 2 people to put the bindings on the boards i have.

300sflyer

Chief Petty Officer

Yes, both the bindings and feet were wet, but nothing else was used.

The directions that came with the board state, that the bindings must be loose enough to release in the event of a fall, which is pretty much a done deal for someone new to wakeboarding.;)

Thanks,

71satellite

Cadet

Hi Mike,

I used to have a pair of wrap-style bindings similar to those on the web link you posted. They were a men's large, and even my girlfriend with size 5 feet had a hard time getting her feet into them (I was considering adjusting them smaller for her, but even adjusted for my size 11's they were tough to get on, although of course once on them were sloppy).