winch cable coated or not?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Formula1974

Petty Officer 1st Class
how many of you guys use coated cable on your trailer winches? It seemed to me that it would last longer weather wise as it wouldnt rust as fast. Another thing how thick of a cable do you use for your size boat. And one more how do you hook the hook onto the cable? with the 3 u-bolts or with those new slide crimp jobs? Sorry for all the questions just been running this thru my mind.

ED21

Master Chief Petty Officer
Re: winch cable coated or not?

My latest boat came with a strap that works well. Just a little care to keep it flat as it rolls in. <br />Any other boat trailer I've owned has had galvanized cable. I'm not sure how the ends were attached or the size. I seem to remember a swaged eye at the hook. <br /> <br />Coated cable may hold water in & promote corrosion, but I have no experience.

jtexas

Fleet Admiral

My cable is not coated and hasn't rusted in 24 years. If the coating gets punctured and develops a leak, the coating will hold the moisture and facilitate rust. Kind of like if you don't wash your shovel after digging, the dirt holds the moisture to the metal and cause it to rust instead of dry.

dajohnson53

Lieutenant Commander

I'd get a strap instead of a cable. I used to have cables for many years, now have straps and like them a lot better. Just seem to work more smoothly, are more likely to spot weakening before sudden snap, and if it does snap, I'd rather be hit by a broad nylon strap than a thin, frayed steel cable.

BinLurkin

Petty Officer 2nd Class