Recommendation for first wave runner please

Jalili99

Recruit
Hi there,

In the market for a wave runner. Most important on the wish list is the noise. I'll be keeping it at my parents house and they are anti-wave runners due to the noise. So it has to be on the quiet side. Will be used on small lakes in Michigan. Performance is not that high on the list either. I'll be using it mostly to do exploring around the lakes with my small boys. Of course, I would like to have fun on it, but not really into tearing up the lake. Also, would prefer to not spend a billion dollars on it.

Lastly, I'm new to all of this, so what is the general thoughts on buying used? We looked at pontoon boats last summer and used were so expensive. Seemed like a sellers market for pontoons, same for pwc?

Thank you for replying.

Bamaman1

Lieutenant Commander
Re: Recommendation for first wave runner please

Since 1984, I've had stand up Jet Skis and two Sea Doo's, including the hot rod RX. I bought another new PWC last year, and do most of my cruising/sightseeing on it.

PWC's are no longer 450 lb. machines--but 800-900 pound, up to 260 horsepower monsters. The manufactuers cut a deal with the U.S. Government to govern the high performance machines @ 68 mph, but many go out the dealers' doors with a bunch of modifications. They're a 10' boat that goes 0-30 mph in less than 2 seconds--faster out of the hole than any car built.

It's not if you're going to get hurt, but WHEN you're going to get hurt. Put one in the hands of a 16 year old, and they're a death machine.