98 deadoo gtx overheat

lexer440

Petty Officer 1st Class
I picked up this machine for $500 with the intention of rebuilding it over winter. never done this before but i am very familiar with outboards so not a total novice to two strokes. It heated up enough to discolor head a little and melt a couple of plastic hoses lucky enough to be touching it and a local marina had taken off the heads to view piston damage and they were left off for a few weeks, they determined it would need a rebuild. Pistons look good, pretty much what I would expect to see, maybe a little blacker. I turned motor over and everything seemed to run smooth, new seals on the head, replaced the plastic hoses that melted and put the machine back together and did a compression test, found compression good so I gave it some gas and oil and fired it up. seems to run well and idles at around 2000rpm on hose. My question is, have I been really lucky or should I be looking deeper?

mphy98

Lieutenant
Re: 98 deadoo gtx overheat

What was the root cause of the overheating? That would be my 1st thing to look for. Sand plugging up the water jackets?

lexer440

Petty Officer 1st Class

I am trying to determine cause. water jacket seems clear but not fully checked out yet. No oil in tank but there was oil in pipe so maybe it did not run out. Speaking of oil, it was everywhere, bilge was covered in it and right up front too when i removed storage bin, clean oil at that, trying to clean it up and determine if was an internal leak somewhere. Apparently the last people to use this machine had borrowed it and returned it broken, obviously denying any wrong doing but who knows. anyway, it was cheap and i have the whole winter.

arks

Lieutenant Commander

Overheat could've been sand or even seaweed blocking the intake, hard to know for sure.
Before taking it apart, I'd test it under load and see how it performs.
Cross your fingers; maybe you'll be lucky!