Starts off great then....

rking

Cadet
Hello all,
I'm sort of a newbie here but was hoping for some insight as to what may be going on with this 98 Seadoo Gtx Ltd. History: Crossed water lines led to overheating which melted the exhaust hose (I assume). The boat took on water and almost sank before making it back to the dock. Spark plugs removed and lube sprayed in cylinders and exhaust hose replaced back in 2007. Put back in the lake and she started to take on water so the owner parked it for roughly 4 years (inside his basement). I started working on it this year and found a hole in the resonator muffler. I replaced that and did a compression test on the engine which read around 130 on both. I cleaned tank, fuel filters and replaced fuel. Took her to the lake and she ran great for about 20 minutes then started to bog down. Barely made it back to the dock at a crawl. Took her home and replaced fuel lines and had the carbs rebuilt (by a Seadoo mech.). Took her back to the lake and discovered two problems. First, she ran great for about 2-3 minutes right off the trailer. RPMS made it to 6-7k and speedometer read around 55-60mph at WOT. However, after a couple minutes she gradually started slowing down even at full throttle. Eventually WOT was only about 3-4k rpm and about 30 mph tops. The other issue is when I looked in the hull and she was taking on water on the left side under the motor. It was flowing on top on the hull lip and running down to the bottom of the hull. Not sinking but might if ran for a few hours. Any ideas on what might be going on with either of these issues? I appreciate any insight on what might be going on here.
Thanks

dannyual767

Petty Officer 1st Class
Re: Starts off great then....