Just received a free jetski. Did I get a diamond in the rough, or a complete pig?

Hey all.

So I'm new to the world of PWC, well new to owning one not riding. I was looking for a cheap jet ski and I actually found a free one on Craigslist. It's a 1992 Kawasaki 750 SS, and it's pretty beat up. The person that gave it to me said it only needed a new "battery", which is generally code for you just inherited a nightmare. The owner stated he had it in the water this year, but from the looks of it, I doubt it. I wanted a project to work on, so if you guys think this doesn't look like too much of a nightmare, I may pour a few hundred into it and see if it runs. I am pretty handy with wet sanding and using buffers, so I think I can do some of the repairs. I think it's called the Gelcoat? that's peeling, and how hard is that to fix? I need honest opinions, which from what I've read, I'll get on this site. haha. Let me know what you think. Thanks and I hope I can contribute.

Cheers.

PICS FOUND IN THE LINK BELOW!

http://imageshack.us/g/204/jetski1.jpg/

robcarync

Petty Officer 3rd Class
Re: Just received a free jetski, did I get a diamond in the rough, or a complete pig?

Re: Just received a free jetski, did I get a diamond in the rough, or a complete pig?

I have the same Kawasaki 750 ss but it's a 95....and it's an awesome and reliable ski for me. As I've found with my other ski....a craigslist project...the condition from the previous owner is key. Since you got this for free and you're interested in a project...I'd say go for it....for me, I wasn't willing to put a whole lot of money Into my project...but I'm ok with spending a lot of time with it.

A few tips...find the service manual because it will help a ton.

Start with easy checks that you can do for free...verify all fuel lines are clear, check valves, fuel connections etc. You can check electrical stuff with a multimeter etc