'94 Reflexx 90sports jet 12mph only

R6Yuri

Recruit
Please help me guys! I'm new to boating and don't know much. I bought is '94 Reflexx Because it's a good size boat for me to handle. Anyways this boat will only accelerate TopSpeed 12 mph, there's nothing stuck in the propeller or underneath the boat in that little drain thing. I'm so frustrated with it!!! Im so pist the previous owner sold me this boat like this because I asked if the boat runs good and if it accelerates and how fast it goes. When I accelerate on the it won't go any faster than 12 miles tops but you can hear the RPMs are going up. It has new sark plugs that's all I know and the spark plugs do have a spark.I just don't want to be guessing what's wrong with it and just drop money into things that are not necessary. Sorry I don't even know the right terms, but I hope it's understandable. Meanwhile I'm keeping busy by reupholstering it myself. And a million thanks to anybody that helps me!!!!

Attachments

• photo303203.jpg
    photo303203.jpg
    112.9 KB · Views: 0
Last edited by a moderator:

Scott Danforth

Grumpy Vintage Moderator still playing with boats
Staff member
welcome aboard

you may want to remove your personal email from the post

regarding the 90hp jets in the small bayliners. they were under-powered from the factory, however the boat should get up on plane.

are you running on all cylinders?
What RPM are you running?
what is the results of your compression test?
has the engine gone thru a link-n-sync?
have you inspected the tank
how is the wear ring? Impeller?

H20Rat

Vice Admiral
Sounds like a wear ring or impeller issue, but check all the things scott mentioned.

Not to disappoint, but that boat very likely will be an expensive money pit. It is old and based on an unreliable engine that hasn't been made any more. Finding a mechanic to work on it will be tough, finding parts might be impossible.

southkogs

Staff member
Welcome aboard: