SS vs Aluminum specs.

Mudbugger

Cadet
OK, so I'm ready for the tar and feather, equipment and brigade to arrive, as I don't have all the requested info that listed in the sticky. I'm ready for it, but here goes.

The boat in question is a 1985, Invader, 17 ft open bow runabout, sporting a 3.0/140 carburetted engine with an Alpha 1, Gen 1 outdrive and a 2 blade (was originally a 3 blade, but I modified that, on our last outing!) aluminum 14 X 19 prop.

The performance was acceptable as was, the engine would hit the lower end of the WOT, RPM range, at about 4200 RPM.

I've received conflicting suggestions, about changing from aluminum, one guy says go down 1 pitch size (17") the other says go up one pitch size (21"). Just coincidentally, each one happens to have a good used prop, that matches his suggestion! Go figure that!!

Anyway, obviously I'm new at this, and boating is a rather small part of my life, too many really pressing things, allow too little time and dollar$ for the fun things.

Any and all advice appreciated, I will accept the tar and feathers, as punishment for the missing info. Plus, the boat is presently about 750 miles from my present location.

TIA.

QBhoy

Fleet Admiral
Your rpm are fairly low for what I’d expect from that rig and it’s likely gear ratio. Are you trimming up and or is there a chance the prop was in bad shape before the “modification” ?
I would naturally stick with a 19” for this set up.
As always. There is no real hard fixed rule around these things sometimes. Some set ups find that the rpm will increase at the top end with a good stainless (with same pitch as ally previously)...simply because the hull is lifted further out the water..giving less load and more speed/rpm.
depends on the prop too. If you throw a prop like just a bog standard vengeance on it. You’ll likely lose rpm...and often speed too.

dingbat

Supreme Mariner
I have three props for my boat.

An aluminum Michigan Wheel 14x17 that I carry as a spare