Repairing My Own Prop

Bassn7

Seaman
Before I buy a new prop I would like to attempt to heat and bend the blades out myself. It's only a $70 prop for my old Mercury 9.8. What tricks do I need to know so I don't snap off the blades? 2 of the 3 blades are slightly curled in. I just need to bend them out. Thanks to all that can help me.

jimmbo

Supreme Mariner
Do you have any knowledge/experience involving Metallurgy? Without a pitch block, the odds of getting the blades close are far from good. Bending Aluminum back often results in cracks that will lead to blade breakage. Balancing the prop may also be difficult. As you said "It's only a $70 prop". Don't let anyone try to sell you a prop for a 9.9, It will not fit, ever

Scott Danforth

Grumpy Vintage Moderator still playing with boats
Staff member
Plenty of $20 props for 7.5 and 9.8 out there on CL. I ended tossing a few because i tried selling for almost a year

I have an engineering degree and access to everything except pitch blocks and I wouldnt attempt to work on a prop.

running a bent prop is a fast way to damage the leg

Buy a good prop, or get it repaired by a prop shop

ahicks

Captain
I'll attempt a prop of my own if not bent too bad. I figure there's nothing lost if I try and it breaks vs. sending it to the shop or replacing it. I don't use heat, ever.

I do use a small hammer (for good control) and a sheet metal dolly (think hand held anvil w/smooth surfaces) that's at least as heavy as the hammer. Preferably much heavier. Just remember aluminum hardens as it works, becoming much more likely to crack, so think about what you're doing.

dingbat

Supreme Mariner
I would go for it. You have nothing to loose.

I would have at my disposal the following:
Good quality anvil with horn
heavy ball peen hammer
heavy dead blow
couple blocks of hardwood
contour gauge