1985 Baja 220 Sport Prop Selection Help

fastback180

Recruit
I have a 1985 Baja 220 Sport and I am trying to get it dialed in. Its 22ft closed bow Its got a 1984 Mariner 200HP V6 outboard with a set back plate. The previous owner could only "tell" me what was done to the engine but said that it has a 225 hp power head and an opened up exhaust. (it is pretty loud even at idle). It runs fantastic. I picked up a shop manual for it and it says operating range at WOT is between 5200-5800. it currently 14 1/4 diameter 19 pitch prop on it. It also looks like the previous owner took a grinder to the stainless steel prop to try and make it look better but I feel its hurting the performance significantly from the research I have done. I'm a noob when it comes to the technicalities of all this and don't want to spend money aimlessly when it comes to a nice prop.

Anyways, it jumps out of the water pretty quick and im at 5800-5900rpm's pretty quick as well and GPS's @ 55MPH.

I do not do any type of towing with it and would like to get it going as fast as possible for the river runs. I am willing to sacrifice take off in favor for top speed. Four blade 23p? three blade 23p? Anyone with a similar boat set up?

Last edited:

steelespike

Supreme Mariner
Using 1.87 ratio 55 at 5900 rpm nets only 3% slip highly unlikely. Wondering if it might be current or wind aided?
It is possible the tach isn't accurate,reading low?I think a 21" is a better bet . At 55mph don't expect much by a prop change.

Last edited:

fastback180

Recruit