Increased prop pitch and the zinc anode on the outdrive is in the way? Remedy?

auscarter12

Seaman
I have a 19' foot Aristocraft with a Mercruiser 165 and a pre-alpha outdrive on it. The outdrive serial number dates it from around 1974-75. I had a 17 inch pitch on it and it would only allow it to run about 27 mph at WOT. I believe the previous owner used the boat for skiing. I, on the other hand, am not interested in skiing - mainly tubing and cruising. I increased the pitch from 17' to 21'. After attaching the new prop, I realized that it hits the zinc anode on the drive. In order to properly detach the anode I would have to split the drive and unscrew it from the inside of the lower unit. I'm thinking about just taking my saws-all and cutting the anode. In essence I would be turning the pointed anode into a flat anode to give the prop enough clearance to run. the prop clears the bottom of the drive perfectly, but the anode is too big. I have never done this before and was hoping for any input or advice. Thank you!

jbcurt00

Staff member
Pointed anode?

Changing pitch or DIAMETER causes the prop to contact the anode?

Are you sure you're not talking about the trim tab?
18-6011_big.jpg

That's a trim tab AND an anode ^^^ You DO NOT want to grind it flat, it's intended to help counter act prop steer. Possibly grind a small flat on the end of it instead of a sharp point?

What rpm are you running WOT w/ the 17pitch?

17 to 21 sounds like a pretty big jump, but I'm not a I/O owner. How'd you decide to jump up to a 21?

auscarter12

Seaman