Houseboat Build - In Progress

Jim Hawkins

Chief Petty Officer
Click image for larger version  Name:	 Views:	1 Size:	145.8 KB ID:	10685134
I didn't see a category for houseboats so since it began with the pontoons I'll put it here.

I've been building my houseboat, (in my head) for the last 20 years and am finally bring it to reality. I began with fiberglass pontoons and went with the only company I could find which also happened to be somewhat near me. A&M Pontoons out of Old Town, FL built the pontoons and mounted them to a deck overall 28' X 9' 6". These pontoons are big, at 4 feet wide and as it sits now it is only displacing about 2 or 3 inches. I need to add about 5000 lbs. to get it down where the waterline is near the top of the bottom paint.

The photo shows my temporary controls I used to get it from where it was delivered at a nearby marina to my canal.

Next I'll show the wall framing in progress one I figure out how to add pictures in the text instead of thumbnails...

Last edited:

Jim Hawkins

Chief Petty Officer
The walls are being laid up using 1"x4"PT for posts and 1"x8" PT for the beam and glued together glulam style for 4 layers of wood making a 3" thick wall. Here are the beginning 2 layers. The wood was bought months ago and has been dried and sanded before gluing. After all my research it was a tossup between epoxy or Titebond II glue. After doing tests, both bonded the wood so well the joints would not break, the wood next to it would so I went with the Titebond.

Attachments

• photo305212.jpg
    photo305212.jpg
    154.8 KB · Views: 11
  • photo305213.jpg
    photo305213.jpg
    139.9 KB · Views: 10
  • photo305214.jpg
    photo305214.jpg
    140.8 KB · Views: 10
Last edited:

gm280

Supreme Mariner
I have no suggestions how to build such a boat, so I will just watch as you post new updates.

Bayou Dave

Lieutenant Commander
I will suggest that you use Titebond III as it is waterproof whereas II is water resistant.

Jim Hawkins