Has anyone out there actually taken a Boating Safety course?

Bob's Garage

Chief Petty Officer
Is there anyone out there that has actually taken a boating safety course by any recognized boating authority?

There are so many boaters on the water doing so many stupid things that I am wondering if anyone besides me has actually taken the time to learn to be safe.

I am not a professional, nor instructor, nor with the CG, but I am a member of the local Power Squadron.

So, I challange you to make yourselves know to others, be proud, share your pride in caring enough about others to invest in the safe operation of your vessel.

Lets talk about our training and perhaps we can stimulate others to make the investment in their own, and their familes safety.

arks

Lieutenant Commander
Re: Has anyone out there actually taken a Boating Safety course?

Sure.

When I was a wee lad I spent summers in the NY Finger Lakes and got a lot of "seat-of-the-pants" boat training, but nothing professional.

When I was in my teens, I went to summer camp at Admiral Farragut Academy in NJ where I learned all things nautical, but the school was geared towards sailing. Got my "QBH" (Qualified Boat Handler) card and could pilot any of their boats- including a couple powerboats.

I took my first safe boating course (USCGA) about 25 years ago, after a friend got me re-interested in boating. When my daughter turned 16 (4 years ago), the whole family- including me- took it before buying a PWC. It was a good refresher. I HIGHLY recommend it to anyone- even the old salts!