For those familiar with Lake Travis and Lake Austin in Austin, TX...

ChrisW23

Cadet
What do you recommend for an anchor for these two lakes? We just upgraded our bowrider from 18' to 21' and the new boat's locker is designed for a Danforth style anchor. I have no experience with this type; slip-ring or 'fixed' styles? how much/size chain should be used? typical length to depth ratio? Any other guidance would be much appreciated.

With our old boat I had two mushroom anchors that did well for us, but this new boat is much bigger and heavier. Not to mention the mushrooms won't fit in the locker.

Thanks to all for your input,

ChrisW
Austin, TX

Texasmark

Supreme Mariner
Re: For those familiar with Lake Travis and Lake Austin in Austin, TX...

Lot of rocks in that area. That's nice because it makes for crystal clear water. The Danforth is a fluted anchor based on the same functional design as the Navy Style anchor but much much lighter for it's holding ability as compared to the Navy. With it's thin blades (flukes) it's designed to bury into the bottom regardless of the composition. In Travis I would recommend it and have a trip ring so that WHEN you get it hung up you can drive over it (forward of it) slip the ring up on the crown end of the anchor and pull it out in reverse of the way it got stuck.

Chain always works well as it forces the shank to lie somewhat parallel to the bottom which forces the flukes to dig in rather than pull out. Put on all that you can, course chain size (link diameter) helps to determine length. You are looking for weight on the line and you can get it either by large diameter or long length. Other thing is slope....length of anchor rope vs depth of water. The more wind and large waves, the more. 3:1 is min and a lot of big water folks like 10:1.