Another Zebra Mussel question

pullin

Petty Officer 2nd Class
In Texas, we are now required to remove the drainplug and drain the bilge water prior to changing lakes. This is part of an effort to stop the transport of zebra mussels from lake to lake (as I understand it). Does the heat in the engine kill the zebra mussel larvae? If not, it seems as though the critters could simply ride along in the engine and hoses till flushed into the next lake.

Has anyone had problems with them taking up residence inside an engine or outdrive? What do you do to combat this?

Apologies if already covered, but I didn't see these particular questions in a search.

Texasmark

Supreme Mariner
Re: Another Zebra Mussel question

If you don't get an answer contact TPWD and I bet they have an answer.

Mark

Frank Acampora

Supreme Mariner

Usually, according to the USDA (I was an inspector) heat up to 146 degrees is considered fully cooked for meat and will kill all pathogenic bacteria. It is also usually above the heat at which milk and eggs are pasteurized. Pasteurization involves heating to a lower temperature and holding for a dwell time to kill pathogenic bacteria. (simplified explanation)

130 degrees is hot enough to scald skin, which is the reason most home water heaters are recommended to be set to 125.

Thus, if your engine is running at 130-140 degrees or more for any period of time, that heat WILL kill or inactivate almost anything alive, including Zebra Mussel larvae.

However, TRUE sterilization requires temperatures above boiling (15 pounds of steam in an autoclave for 15 minutes, I think it reaches 250 degrees). This will kill everything including spore forming bacteria which are the most heast resistant.

Bondo

Staff member