What is the proper way to use a gen set for overnight cruising?

bigdealsam

Seaman Apprentice
My new to me (1994) SeaRay 330 Sundancer is in great condition. I intend to use her for 3 or 4 days at a time in the ICW on the NC shore. I've never used a generator before and I am concerned with CO emissions and possible cabin contamination. Is it proper to leave the generator running all night (so I can run the ac or heat)? If so, do I also leave the blower running all night?

My survey says the generator is running properly and I have let it run for a couple of hours while I was cleaning the cabin without smelling anything (other than the crap that I removed from the cabin drawers)

I appreciate any info. Rather ask a dumb question than die from not asking a dumb question.
Thanks, Sam Baker

marauder11

Petty Officer 2nd Class
Re: What is the proper way to use a gen set for overnight cruising?

Is co not odourless

bigdealsam

Seaman Apprentice

Yes, I think it is. My point about not smelling any odors was referring to gas fumes. The lack of an odor is, I would think, a pretty good indicator that the generator was running properly.
I'm just concerned with letting it run all night while I and my guests sleep in the cabin. Is it safe to let it run all night? If I let it run all night, do I also keep the blower running?

I just don't have any experience with a generator or overnight cruising.
Thanks, Sam

Gpayne

Petty Officer 3rd Class

How about a carbon monoxide detector in the cabin? They work in the home, seems to me they'd probably work fine in a boat cabin as well.

Expidia

Commander

A CO detector would not be a bad idea in the sleeping area anyway. CO odorless. And a detector is cheap insurance at Walmart.

I'd call a marina who sells boats and ask them.
I know when Im on my brother in laws 46 footer he runs the gen while we are under way to give us AC in the cabin and run the fridge.