BEST WAY OF polishing a dull aluminum hull

skinnett9

Cadet
whats the best way to make this baby shine...im new to the boating thing, but lovin itirritable bow.jpg

jspansel

Petty Officer 2nd Class
Re: polishing a dull aluminum hull

The problem is that aluminum gets oxidized like that to protect itself from the elements (thats a good thing). If you polish it to a shine, you will have to constantly keep up on it or it will go right back. I say clean it good and have fun with the boat!

skinnett9

Cadet

If i shine it up, would regular waxing keep it up, or is it just more trouble than its worth?

kfa4303

Banned

lots of folks get and keep there boats shinny without too much effort. It's more likely to oxidize in saltwater of course, but otherwise it can hold a shine pretty good. You can get aluminum polishing kits from most autoparts/tool stores like Harbor Freight for $20 or so. They even make treatments you can "paint" the exterior of the hull with one you've got her polished like sharkhide.

http://www.harborfreight.com/14-piece-aluminum-polishing-kit-98707.html

Tahorover

Chief Petty Officer

You can use aluminum brightener,

http://www.racerpartswholesale.com/product/2575/Cleaners_And_Polishes

It is commonly used to brighten aluminum truck trailers
4-22-03%20815s.jpg

Fireman431

Rear Admiral

Or scuff it with a ScotchBrite pad for that satin-y look. Easier to keep that way, too.

5150abf

Vice Admiral

I was watching a show on aluminum and was very suprised to hear that polished aluminum is more reflective than a mirror, there are few things nicer looking than polished aluminum.