Steering cables, rack cables? I need help with this.

MajBach

Chief Petty Officer
I have a 2000 Sylvan aluminum with a 90hp Honda. Two years ago, I noticed the steering wheel seemed quite hard to turn at times. I annually grease all the nipples on the motor etc. Guy at a shop told me it's normal and that they would probably need replacing soon. I did an extra good job greasing it up including disassembling the push rod from the motor and cleaning the shaft etc. IT seemed to make a noticeable difference.
This year the steering is really stiff - two hands almost always. Interestingly though, there are times when its really loose. Anyway, I once again lubed it up really well but it made no difference. I am assuming it is time to replace the steering components unless there is some way to service them and clean them out. I have never worked with this aspect of a boat before but am quite mechanically inclined and completely confident I can replace everything; I just need to know what to buy - lol.
Are the push/pull rods/cables something that comes with an outboard or a boat? I mean, do I buy the parts from Sylvan or from Honda? What is the difference between a rack cable and a steering cable? What does the 'No Feedback" function do and do I require it? Finally, how difficult would it be to convert to hydraulic and what would the advantages be?
Thanks a heap?

Silvertip

Supreme Mariner
Re: Steering cables, rack cables? I need help with this.