1987 starcraft islander 19 ' with factory outboard bracket?

sidingguy

Petty Officer 2nd Class
Going to look at this Islander tomorrow,anybody got any ifo on this setup? Owner says it factory outboard with a1.4 lter omc .

southkogs

Staff member
Make sure you look at the OMC closely - If a Cobra, others will have to give you details. But most will say to avoid it unless you intend to re-power.

If it's a Stringer drive (they stopped making 'em in '86, but maybe it's got a leftover), you want to steer clear unless you're into the idea of caring for a vintage drive. You can't repower without rebuilding your transom.

OMC went out of business in the 90s, and some of the older parts are getting tougher to dig up.

Old Ironmaker

Captain
I have had zero experience with OMC other than searching for parts for a pal online for ever and can't find any. Many say run don't walk away.

GA_Boater

Honorary Moderator Emeritus
The title says outboard bracket. :confused: But it may be a Seadrive.

What do you want to know? Got a pic or link to an ad? We won't steal it unless you pass on her.

sidingguy

Petty Officer 2nd Class
Will take pics tomorrow.Only going by what seller claims. Could be seadrive? Can you explain, were they a factory option?

GA_Boater

No idea if Seadrives were a factory option. They were available in 1987. Seadrives are an OMC motor mounted on a sort of bracket and sold as a single unit. The reason I said Seadrive is back then the Outboards were named by their horsepower ( 90, 115, 235, etc.)and Seadrives were named by the metric displacement (1.8 liter, 2.0 liter, etc.).

Later year Islanders did have an outboard with bracket option.

Write down the HIN or take a picture of it.

sidingguy

Petty Officer 2nd Class
Ok guys, its sitting in my driveway after driving 2 1/2 hrs to look at it.No idea on condition of motor but couldn 't turn it down.Hull vin is strn9446J485. Pics will follow later today.

jbcurt00

Staff member
Makes it a 1985 Starcraft