How much should I be paying for a 1976 Seaswirl 15' boat?

Hey guys,
It's my first time posting on here and I would like to get your honest opinion. I've been looking to buy an affordable reliable first boat. I have my eye on a 1976 Seaswirl 15' with original Johnson 85 hp motor. The body has a few chips nickle size that reveal the fiberglass (I don't know if that's to be worried about). The inside is in good shape. In your opinion what would be a good price to pay for this boat?? Any feedback would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

GA_Boater

Honorary Moderator Emeritus
Welcome aboard.

Too little info to even make a guess. Location, condition, condition and most importantly condition, determine how much to pay.

It's 42 years old, so it shouldn't be a big ding. What is the asking price and do you have a link to an online ad so we can see it?

tpenfield

Staff member
:welcome:

My guess is about $2,500-$3,000 if everything is in good condition

$2k or less if in fair condition.

Scott Danforth

Grumpy Vintage Moderator still playing with boats
Staff member
Depends on many variables, including where you live.

Agreed, not enough information

However assuming normal wear and tear with a good maintenance and care history......

Northern WI, maybe $800 in good shape, East or West coast maybe $2000 in good shape

However if the hull is waterlogged or plagued with any of the other common issues of a 42-43 year old boat, or the motor has been neglected.....the value could be a negative number

Here are some pictures of the boat. I'm located in southern California. The motor starts right up and looks very healthy and clean inside. The seller said he's had it for 7 years and he is the second owner. He tells me that he gets it tuned up every year before every summer. He is asking for $2,200 but I was able to negotiate to $1,600.I hope this helps. Again thank you! Any feedback will be helpful!

Attachments

• photo298506.jpg
    photo298506.jpg
    658.1 KB · Views: 2