Sunbird Odyssey

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Sunbird Odyssey

I am new to iboats, Been boating forever, owned many skiffs/ flat bottom bay boats, a 70's tri hull, a v cuddy and a couple of pontoons. I "acquired" a Deck Boat true Tri-Hull from a buddy, he's owned it for 12 years and bought a new boat. I'm a little nervous about this thing, I am not as young as I used to be and not sure if I want to dive into another project. it's a 1995 Sunbird Odyssey 21' deck boat. It's powered by a 130hp Evinrude 2 stroke (which runs GREAT!) and included a brand new trailer. It's a Georgia lake boat and has never been in salt water. I have been on this boat, Ski'd, tubed, wake boarded off of it and all. the age of it is scaring me. What do you guys think? My family wants to keep her, i'm not so sure (buyers remorse i guess).

if its well cared for, well maintained and you know the history, why not.

my boat is an '88
    Cheesehead boating the Gulf Coast of FLA 27.51° N, 82.53° W

1988 Cruisers Rogue 2420 -VP 290 DP now powered by custom 468 - https://forums.iboats.com/forum/owner...988-rogue-2420

Past Boats
    1970 Wooster Hellion - Merc 9.8
    2002 SeaRay 190BR - 5.0 - A1G2 - "Cheeseheads in Paradise"
    1984 Avanti 170DLI -3.0 stringer- "Ship Happens"

What’s behind you doesn’t matter.Enzo Ferrari

Comment

You've got a lot of experience with boats and projects. What makes you uneasy about this boat?

Comment

What about it is a project, besides being a 22 year old boat? Looks very clean in the pictures.

Comment

Looks clean and well cared for, from pic spent life in covered boat house. Any thing can happen out if the blue, but Unless your friend shafts you there should be no surprises. Wouldn't worry about it.

Comment

Thanks Guys,
            I guess I needed to be Motivated. My Buddy is not the "routine/preventive maintenance" guy that I am. (Yes I'm anal).