1973 Reinell Project - Advice Appreciated!

Bimmerknut

Seaman
Hi Folks! This is my very FIRST attempt at boat restoration. I picked up this boat and EZ-Load trailer for $150. I figured if all is a loss, at least the trailer is worth that, right? The title lists it as a 20-foot, 1973 Reinell RV2050. I have no idea what was wrong with the motor as it has at least had the intake removed. I can only assume that since there is a brand new dual-draft intake in a box in the boat that it is possibly at Penta/Volvo 130/270, but that's just a guess. Tried "Googling" the model and am finding very little about the boat. Sadly it's been exposed to the Washington elements for about 6 months. The upholstery needs work. I walked on all of the flooring and it seemed nice and secure. The carpet all needs to come up and be replaced. The linkage seemed to work for the shifting and steering, so I can assume that is at least functioning. My purpose is to see this boat as a fishing boat, trolling salmon in the Puget Sound up here in Washington. If all goes well with bringing this boat back to life, I would install trolling down-riggers.

So many questions I don't know where to start, so let's just begin with searching for another engine to rebuild. Can anyone suggest what I should be looking for? ANY other advice is greatly appreciated. I'm not young but I'm mechanically inclined, if that helps.

Thanks friends!

Attachments

• photo281693.jpg
    photo281693.jpg
    93.7 KB · Views: 0
  • photo281694.jpg
    photo281694.jpg
    107.1 KB · Views: 0
  • photo281695.jpg
    photo281695.jpg
    125.7 KB · Views: 0
  • photo281696.jpg
    photo281696.jpg
    128.5 KB · Views: 0
  • photo281697.jpg
    photo281697.jpg
    154.3 KB · Views: 0
  • photo281698.jpg
    photo281698.jpg
    146.6 KB · Views: 0
  • photo281699.jpg
    photo281699.jpg
    85.3 KB · Views: 0

mr 88

Commander