Advice to begin fishing

Milemaker13

Petty Officer 2nd Class
Hey gang,
I want to start fishing now that my boat is working pretty good(Thanks to these forums!). What kind of pole/reel would you suggest? I will be fishing mainly smaller freshwater lakes in northern IL, also Springfield, IL...

I havn't been fishing since I was a little kid, and even then it wasn't much. I have seen poles at sprawl mart for like $30. I also saw a couple poles on craigslist for $25 apiece. One was a Shakespeare LX25, the other was a Daiwa 130RL. They look to be the 'open reel' type, if that makes any sense. Are these good poles for $25 apiece? What should I be looking for in a beginner's pole?

I don't know if I should stick with the standard looking reel with the thumb button on the back or what. I think I'll be fishing with a bobber mainly, but the 'lure casting' sounds cool too. I have never done that before, just a bobber line from the shore as a little kid.

What other gear should I get before starting out? Net? Pliers? Filet knife? Hooks, sinkers, bobbers? Bait? Beer?

Also, my boat (14' smokercraft "Big Fisherman") has a live well built in to the bench. It has a hose that runs under the floor out the transom with a small valve at the well. How exactly do I use this to my advantage?

Thanks!

Skytex83

Cadet
Re: Advice to begin fishing