Any one do any Trout fishing in Oklahoma

wikelam

Chief Petty Officer
I have been trout fishing in Ok for the last year. Mainly in the winter months. Was wondering if it is pretty good fishing in the summer months also. I usually fish the Lower Illinois river, by Gore. Planning a trip, was wondering how they are biting.

Bco128

Petty Officer 1st Class
Re: Any one do any Trout fishing in Oklahoma

to be honest ive never had a great deal of luck in the summer.or in the winter either for that matter.im still learning how to fly fish,havent tried ultralight rig yet.hey while on the subject.have you tried blue river?they opened it up for trout this year.so far havent heard much news on quality of fish.just to watch out for the over abundant cottonmouth's.

wikelam

Chief Petty Officer

No, have only fished lower illinois and lower mt. fork rivers. i do most fishing in the winter. i use a fly rod, my brother uses ultralites. he will usually catch double what i catch, but i just like the fly rod. you can also use the fly rod for bass and perch to get some practice.

Bco128

Petty Officer 1st Class

i enjoy using the fly rod on perch and bass.have found tat at times i will catch more bass in the summer on a fly rod than anything else.particularly in clear water coves and such. not supprised since the line is designed to not be detected easily.i have also started tying flies.not great at it but the perch seem to like them well enouph.

wikelam

Chief Petty Officer

Same here. have actually caught some trout on my flies. where in OK do you live.

Bco128

Petty Officer 1st Class

i live in coweta.about 20mi SE of tulsa.

wikelam

Chief Petty Officer

so you are closer to the trout areas. which one do you fish most

phree_1

Cadet

I live eight miles from the lower illinois river. I personally, love trout fishing in Arkansas.

Bco128

Petty Officer 1st Class