Cowbells

keninaz

Chief Petty Officer
I am pretty new to fresh water fishing. Grew up around salt water and knew most of the tricks there.
Here, landlocked in AZ. I see most people that seem to be productive consistently seem to use cowbells and they seem to work when almost nothing else does.
Reading about how the flashes emulate small groups of bait fish I can see why.
Do you use them and for what species?

eavega

Lieutenant
We used to use them to troll for stocked trout in Reservation Lake up in the White Mountains. You would get tired of catching rainbows with them. With an electric motor, you troll them about 50-80 ft back of the boat, just fast enough so the tip of the rod would 'twitch every two seconds or so. tip the trailing hook with a worm and you will never fail to catch one.

E

keninaz

Chief Petty Officer
TNX, we have a new Sportsman's Warehouse here in town that I see carries them.
I will have to give them a try.

keninaz

Chief Petty Officer
Interesting, I just provider the link to the seller that sells them and everyone does.
Just google Cowbells for fishing.
I guess they don't want competition here?

gm280

Supreme Mariner

So basically it looks like spoons strung on a line with swivels? :noidea:

StarTed

Senior Chief Petty Officer
Cowbells were quite popular in the '50s for trolling. I don't recall down riggers being used in those days.

All we had was an old wooden row boat in those days that we left at Dog Lake until someone shot a hole in the bottom with a shotgun. :blue:

I still have some cowbells around here somewhere. Maybe I'll give them a try when I finish my boat.

That reminds me, got to get back to working on it. :eek:

sam am I

Commander
We use them for Kokanee and yeah, was told once as well they resemble a group of bait fish. aka "Jackaloyds" in these parts.......