Yamaha 50 4-Stroke Will Not Pee

OmniPo

Cadet
First of all let me preface this all by saying that I'm not an outboard mechanic. Although I am mechanically inclined to some degree.

Boat has been sitting for a few months. I noticed a few days ago when I started it up that it would stop peeing for a second or so and then start-up again. I didn't really think anything of it, figured that whatever was in the system had worked itself loose. However, after fixing my initial throttle linkage issue starting the engine once again... I got absolutely no water coming out of the telltale (even after poking with a paper-clip, etc).

I hooked-up a garden hose to the flush adapter and water comes out of the telltale hole.

So, I may have taken a bit of a diagnostic leap... but, I figured that I had a pump issue.

Removed the lower-unit and checked the impeller but it looks brand new (no visible defects, at least).

Any ideas?

patrick4266

Chief Petty Officer
Re: Yamaha 50 4-Stroke Will Not Pee

good luck on getting a answer. My post about impeller has been sitting here for days and not one answer. I am going to take the lower unit off tomorrow and replace the impeller, I guesss that is what it is, the guy I bought it from had it over a year and never changed it, so it is due. I am not peeing either. It is either stopped up or the impeller went bad. Sounds like yours is stopped up. If it was me, while you had it apart I would run compressed air throught the passages, thats what I plan on doing. good luck.

birdbrain

Seaman Apprentice

Not the expert here but it's my understanding that the pump works from suction rather than the impeller working like a waterwheel. My point is, any scoring in the wear plate or imperfections in the rubber impeller, gaskets, orings may break the suction and it wont work right or to the extent where it will pump with enough pressure to make it all the way to the top of the engine.