This timing is killing me, should be this hard

ChrisCraftFan

Petty Officer 2nd Class
Okay got the shunt, got the advance timing light. I warm up the engine, put in the shunt and leave the 12 volts off. Start engine and immediately dies and will not start. I'm new to this whole shunt thing so what in the world am i doing wrong? Timing should be easy! Its a 2000 5.7 GSi PEFS

alldodge

Staff member
put in the shunt and leave the 12 volts off

I'm seeing that you should have the EST distributor, and i this is the case, then you connect the shunt and connect the wire "to a 12V source"

The below pic is for a Merc and you don't have a shift interrupter, so just connect the lead to 12V

EST Timing.jpg

ChrisCraftFan

Petty Officer 2nd Class
In the for-adults only section i read this. I don’t want to damage anything. I have a new coil already and it wasn’t inexpensive
Is this not true?

NOTE:

The Alligator clip lead of the Initial Timing Connector must never be connected to a B+ source until after engine is started. This is necessary to avoid damage to the electronics of the ignition system.
When the B+ source is connected, the engine may reduce RPM. If engine stalls and must be restarted the lead to the B+ source must be disconnected.

alldodge

Staff member
Light bulb just went on, you have a EFI motor, so you shouldn't be using the shunt. There should be a connector on the distributor which goes to the ECM. The connector is not to be removed to install a shunt, the DLC connector is used to place the motor in base timing

You need a paper clip

Click image for larger version  Name:	VP EST timing.jpg Views:	1 Size:	73.2 KB ID:	10809661

Start motor and bring idle up to 1000 rpm
install paper clip
adjust timing
remove paper clip
motor should idle down

ChrisCraftFan

Petty Officer 2nd Class