Burned on a used boat

fkzdiceman

Cadet
Just got burned on a used 2004 Stingray with a Volvo 3.0 and an SX-M outdrive which I'm hoping I can repair myself. From what I got from the mechanic it needs:

Head Gasket
Circulation Pump
Universal Joints
U-Joint and Exhaust Bellows

I'm not a mechanic, but I'm pretty good with a wrench. Realistically, is this something I should tackle myself? The boat is mine now, so I have to fix it or just let it sit in the yard until it is paid off.

Thanks,

-matt

redneck joe

Supreme Mariner
welcome to the forum, and welcome to the burned club.

If you can, and like to, wrench yes not too bad - the concern would be did it overheat due to failed head gasket / circluation pump? That means new block potentially

if you let it sit in the yard without properly protecting it, you will end up with more issues - which you may already have. Any soft spots on the floor?

Scott Danforth

Grumpy Vintage Moderator still playing with boats
Staff member
Welcome aboard

if you can turn a wrench, understand right-tighty and ask for help before you jump in the job is easy.

the hardest will be the U-joints as the upper gear box needs to come apart, however on a mechanics scale, its about a 5

Bellows are recommended by Volvo to be replaced every other year

on a 3.0, replacing the head gasket and circulating pump are easy. It will take about 6 hours total if you are handy with a wrench. about a 3 on a mechanics scale

U-joints, bellows, etc. will be about 8 hours from the time you start to pull the drive to the time you finish. the drive removal and bellows replacement is considered maintenance so dont consider that being burned. the U-joint replacement is because someone didnt do the normal PM.

I would also replace the gimble bearing and check alignment while you have the drive off. (buy the alignment tool off of ebay or amazon. they are under $40)

fkzdiceman

Cadet