1989 OMC Cobra 4.3L taking on water through transom area.

DunbarLtd

Petty Officer 1st Class
I am working on a 1989 Four Winns with a OMC 4.3L(v6) . I believe the outdrive is a cobra and when launching the boat last week I noticed a pretty good leak coming in through the transom area. It slows down when I gave it throttle for some odd reason but maybe thats relevant info.

This is my first inboard outboard so Im kinda new to these outdrives. Im not sure what part may be failing?

Any ideas how I can diagnose this problem without taking the whole darn thing apart?

Scott Danforth

Grumpy Vintage Moderator still playing with boats
Staff member
first, you need to get your head in there and look to see where the leak is coming from

first thought is the fact its a 32 year old boat, specifically a 32 year old OMC branded boat. most likely the transom is soft

however you could have leaking bellows or other items.

at a minimum:
you need to look to see where the leak is coming in
you need to pull the drive and replace the bellows if you have not done so yet
you need to test drill your transom and look at the shavings.

DunbarLtd

Petty Officer 1st Class
How does the transom wood get wet? When they build these boats dont they seal all the raw edges of the wood with fiberglass or at least gelcoat before mounting the drive? Why is this such a problem with older boats glass boats? Seems like an oversight from the manufacturers. Im sure rotting transoms have been a problem since day one way before the 90s and they couldnt figure out the problem? Are the newer boats the same way or have they went away from wooden transoms? Just seems like an easily fixable problem by making sure to encase all the raw edges of wood with fiberglass. Maybe the manufacturers were just too cheap to spend the time to do it right?

Scott Danforth

Grumpy Vintage Moderator still playing with boats
Staff member