Replace vintage outboard motor keep the pulley and shifting system

mybusiness

Recruit
Hi,
I am new to this and need some advice. I want to replace a 1950s Evinrude 40 HP outboard motor with new modern reliable motor. The boat is from the 50's and I'd like to keep the pulley and shifting system intact and just replace the motor. Is this even possible?
Thanks

roscoe

Supreme Mariner
The shift cables and likely the controller will have to be changed.
You may be able to use the pulley steering, depending on what motor you switch to.

mybusiness

Recruit
Thanks, that's helpful. I was hoping to keep the boat as original as possible, maybe it's just not possible.

Scott Danforth

Grumpy Vintage Moderator still playing with boats
Staff member
If the original motor is in good shape, why not use it.

It may need some TLC, however that is an option.

As far as reliability, a properly maintained simple 50 year old 2-stroke may actually be more reliable than a modern 4-stroke just from the number of potential failure points

mybusiness

Recruit
I wanted to replace it because the old motor was very smoky and oily. A mechanic recently looked at it but I have not seen it yet to know if it's better. The motor was leaving quite an oil slick on the water. The motor is a Lark V and is old but could be younger than the boat, which is a 53 fiberglass boat.

JimS123

Fleet Admiral
The Lark 5 is circa mid 1960's. It should run on 50:1 oil ratio, so if you're using 24:1 that is the cause of your smoking.

If the motor is a "Selectric Shift" (push button shifting) that would be a reason to replace it regardless of how it runs.

jimmbo

Supreme Mariner
If the motor is a "Selectric Shift" (push button shifting) that would be a reason to replace it regardless of how it runs.

Why? The Electric Shift system is a well engineered unit, is reliable, easy to service, shifts very smoothly, and if water is kept out and proper oil used, will be shifting long after we are all pushing up Daisies