what size used / vintage outboard should I buy

pfeffer

Cadet
I am in the process of restoring an 18 foot aluminum deep v runabout. It is a Lonestar Eldarado 18 and I am looking to put a 1970's era long-shaft Evinrude outboard on her. I am looking at used motors and I have the ability to purchase a 85 hp or a 135 hp from a trusted source. I will be boating on lake Michigan - doing some fishing, skiing and tubing with the family - what size engine should I purchase is the question I am asking? I am a sailboat guy and I have little practical knowledge of motor boating and I do not want to purchase something that I will outgrow. Kindly let me know your thoughts.

thanks! Adam

Scott Danforth

Grumpy Vintage Moderator still playing with boats
Staff member
I would buy a 90's or newer. mid 80's is when they went from crank rating to prop rating and standardized the clamp mount

Chris1956

Supreme Mariner
A V4 engine would be good on that boat. I would try to get the larger one. I think some years went up to 140HP.

racerone

Supreme Mariner
A 1984 model 115 / 140 HP model Johnson or Evinrude would be a good choice.-----A simple and smooth running engine.----I assume you as a sailor would want to do your own work.

pfeffer

Cadet
A 1984 model 115 / 140 HP model Johnson or Evinrude would be a good choice.-----A simple and smooth running engine.----I assume you as a sailor would want to do your own work.