You think new Mercury outboards are reliable? Think again!

Status
Not open for further replies.

waterinthefuel

Commander
I've always been a Mercury fan and I'm a mechanic so I know stuff can just "break" but this is unacceptable.

My neighbor bought a brand new Sun Tracker 22 foot barge with a brand spanking new 2017 Mercury 150 four stroke on the back. Absolutely immaculate. Bought it brand new at the boat show a few weeks ago. A few days ago they took it out for the first time. The whole family in their swimsuits, loading their towels, etc. We even walked by them walking our dogs and wished them the best. That's when hell broke loose, literally.

The brand new engine had 3 hours on it and it suddenly froze up. They had to be towed in. Come to find out, a valve spring gave dumping the valve into the cylinder destroying the engine. I was awestruck. I've never heard of that happening to ANY new outboard.

Needless to say, Mercury is hanging a brand new engine on the back of the boat. An $11,000 dollar outboard lasted 3 hours. Unbelievable.

dingbat

Supreme Mariner
Had a friend have two 275hp verados go boom out of the box.

First one took an undisclosed failure and replaced at less than six months old.Its replacement bit a grenade (hole in the block) 3 weeks later. The third now has 1250 hrs going on it's third season

bruceb58

Supreme Mariner
It can happen to any mechanical device. Not surprised and I wouldn't stay away form Mercury because of this one incident.

A valve spring breaks! Could happen to any brand of engine. And guess what...the company that makes those valve springs likely makes springs for a lot more other brands of engines!

tpenfield

Staff member
Must have been the swim suits . . .

Everyone knows you are supposed the wear cargo pants until you get out on the water. :rolleyes: :)

Last edited:

Scott Danforth

Grumpy Vintage Moderator still playing with boats
Staff member
if its man made, it will fail.