1975 mercruiser 888 questions

1975 SRV 193

Cadet
I think im posting this in the correct place,if not please forgive me and let me know,im still learning how to use the forums. I found a topic about giving the ford 302 888 engine more HP (225 HP) By changing to GT4O Heads, a 4 barrel carb, HO Roller cam with roller lifters, what intake and carb would i use with this setup,does the intake need to be marine and if so what can i use please,and what carb for the 500 CFM that was recommended. Thanks for any help.

Scott Danforth

Grumpy Vintage Moderator still playing with boats
Staff member
yes, a marine or a cast iron manifold is recommended.

your block isnt set up for roller cam

a 500 CFM would be more than adequate.

I would just run what you got, and sell it for what you want when you want more.

matt167

Captain
Ford 302 made for a a nice marine engine but it is not supported anymore.. Assuming your exhaust manifolds are good ect.. If you can find a set of GT40's with a cast iron 4bbl manifold cheap enough then just do that if you want a little more. The heads are good for 30-40hp in general. If your motor is in poor shape, you have a Mercruiser so getting Chevy parts to convert it will not be hard to find. Lots of rotted boats to give up what they got, and even a freeze cracked Mercruiser 350 can still supply the bellhousing parts you would need

1975 SRV 193

Cadet
yes, a marine or a cast iron manifold is recommended.

your block isnt set up for roller cam

a 500 CFM would be more than adequate.

I would just run what you got, and sell it for what you want when you want more.

I found all the info here on the forum for the recommended setup,the heads, intake, camshaft etc was all a list of parts need to set it up for the 225 HP instead of 188,if i can find where at on the forum i found it i will let you know. thanks

1975 SRV 193

Cadet