1998 Larson 233 escape (fuel issue)

js1987

Seaman Apprentice
I have a 1998 Larson 233 escape deck boat with a 5.7liter gs with Volvo Sx Cobra out-drive. I am having a problem getting fuel to the fuel pump . I checked the fuel relay, have checked all the fuses under the dash put a new fuel pump in it , put a volt meter to the harness that goes into the pump and I am still not getting any voltage to the pump. The only thing I have noticed was that there is a 12.5 amp breaker on the fuel pump mount that seems frozen it says " Ignition protection". Im running out of ideas on it and I am wondering could this be the problem or is there some way to verifiy that this circuit is not working properly . Any help is greatly appreciated

garbageguy

Lieutenant Commander
have you checked the anti-siphon valve? sometimes they get stuck closed

js1987

Seaman Apprentice
I have not would that keep power from getting to the pump . I’m new to the boat but I’m an auto mechanic tho . I figured the pump would make a noise to prime It or am I mistaken? I can check it today just to eliminate it as an option

alldodge

Staff member
You have 2 diodes (item 16), check them to see if they are connected and working. A diode will pass current in one direction but not another. If you have a diode scale on your meter shift to it to test.

VP GL and GS elect.jpg

js1987

Seaman Apprentice
Ok awesome thanks for the diagram helps a lot I did find out I’m getting spark to the ignition protection circuit just no further I’m in the process of going through the rest of it

js1987

Seaman Apprentice
The diodes are fine at this point according to my boat mechanic he checked them a second ago and told me that since voltage is getting to the switch it’s passing the voltage along it’s just dying at that circuit breaker is his theory .what does this ignition protector even do does it kill fuel or spark?

alldodge

Staff member