Get 115 1983 running

Fiftybucks

Cadet
hi all,
i have a 1983 115 inline 6 serial no. 6541265 that i am trying to get in tip top running condition. I am new to outboards but have had mercruiser i/o most of my life. i am handy but no experience with any outboards. I will be getting a manual

The engine is very hard to start, let alone run smoothly.
I did get it to start, only after shooting starting fluid in the carb throats.
Ran terribly, and then 2 of the 3 carbs leaked fuel all over.
the clear fuel filter kept going dry. there was an air leak in the fuel line now fixed.
Going to do a compression check today and to get fresh fuel in metal outboard fuel tank along with some sea foam. I also checked the spark on each cylinder one at a time and is strong. I have a good new marine battery fully charged.
Quality OEM muffs in place.

This is what was done to the engine and what i can see all by professional shop.
It still does not run, or easy start. I have assumed to this point that the pro shop would have check the compression before proceeding with any work.

New plugs NGK BUHW
New Reeds
new seals
used reed cage
reed valve set
crankcase gasket
Primer Assembly and squeeze Bulb
Inline clear fuel filter
$310
there were also 2 new electronic board on the side next to the coils. I don't know what they are called.
I will post the compression values later today.

What is the next step if the compression checks?
Can i run if the stator is bad... I checked voltmeter but did not show charging. I know.. maybe bad voltmeter but i don't think so.

Last edited:

Iceman66

Petty Officer 2nd Class
Re: Get 115 1983 running

One of the first thing a pro workshop should do is a comp.test.

Sure none of the wires from switchboxes to coils or plugwires have been mixed?

Is the timing and syncr. correctly set?

Have carbs been cleaned or rebuildt?

What about the fuel-pump, does your bilge hand-pump stays hard and firm while squising it?