84 115 Tower of Power

ZOUKeeper

Cadet
I'm new to the older outboard game, but I've already learned a lot...
I have the Tower of Power and I need some help. It coughs and shakes at idle, and when I put it in the water I couldn't throttle more than 1/3 without dieing and at 1/3 I was moving really slow.
So I put in new plugs and new fuel pump kit. It still coughs at idle and I'm about to try the water again tomorrow to see if the fuel pump kit was the fix for going slow. Beyond that, I'm not sure what else I can do, or if it's time to take it to a mech. Does anyone have any advice?

ZOUKeeper

Cadet
I have 100 psi on all cylinders and all the plugs have good spark. The changed gaskets, diaphragm, screen, and orings to the fuel pump made it sound a little better. But on the water this morning I had the same issues. Throttle to 1/3 I was moving 2 mph or so, anymore and it dies, Idle sputters a little like the engine is slowing down too much or is about to die but then keeps cranking. I feel like I'm close... What should I try next? Thank you in advance y'all!!!

Chris1956

Supreme Mariner
Have you done a link and synch? Did you change/adjust the idle mixture adjustment on each carb? Too lean of an idle mixture adjustment can cause it to die on acceleration.

ZOUKeeper

Cadet
Chris1956 The flies open together on all three, same place/ same time. I tried messing with the idle screw on all three, but I didn't see a difference other than I killed it once. As crazy as it sounds, I'm hoping dirty carbs is the answer.
Full disclosure I'm pulling and rebuilding all three carbs tomorrow and Saturday, and I just learned how to set the idle screws after cleaning. If it doesn't work after this I'm really not sure where to go next...

ZOUKeeper

Cadet