3 cyl 65hp Merc - teach me a few things...

WCTori

Seaman
Hi guys,..... new to Merc engines, and have a 3 cyl. 65hp to revive. Don't have the serial number in front of me, but i think it's of the red engine case years. (mid 70's ??? )

Anyway, I only have the powerhead as it's part of a very rare PWC (prototype from 1976) The motor would not turn over and i assumed the worst, - locked, siezed, rusted solid, who knows...... i tore it down today and looks like it was just stuck from the gooey 2 stroke. The pistons were basically glued to the cylinder walls. Everything looks good and perfect from what i've seen so far. Will clean up nicely. Looks like i'll need to replace the upper crank bearing, as it feels rough.

Does that bearing just press off/on ?

How do the reeds work on this motor ? I've never been inside a Merc before, so this is all new to me.

I've got lots of experience with the 2 stroke 50/60 hp Suzuki motors, so looking forward to learning about this one.

Thanks for any advise you can offer.

jimmbo

Supreme Mariner
Well it wouldn’t have been from the Days of Red trimmed Cowls, those ended in 1971. The first year of the 3 cylinder was 72, also the first year for Blue trimming on the cowl.
Is there a silver coloured disc on the power head? If so it would have Serial # which is needed if you ever have to order parts.
The Reeds work just like any other Reeds, these are just buried a little deeper in the engine. Makes for a slightly smaller crankcase, increasing crankcase compression slightly compared to reeds in a manifold
ss you have noticed there is no cylinder head to remove. That makes boring and honing a bit more tedious. It also makes installing the pistons a bit of a pain as special compressors are needed.

The induction system is kind of odd, it has 2 carburetors feeding 3 cylinders, not one of Merc’s better designs, but because of the Reed Design...

The Bearing will have to be pressed off and on

WCTori

Seaman