1976 mercruiser 188 hp 302 overheats

Status
Not open for further replies.

Bass4fun

Recruit
Hello everyone. I'm new to this site so please be kind. First post. Merc. Cruiser 302 ford 188 hp. Overheats. The boat normally runs 180 temp. New thermostat and no blockage in raw water system that I can see. Temp alarm went off and the boat was at 230. I could smell the exhaust bellows melting. No major damage. Can a weak/worn impeller cause the mechanical water pump on front of engine to starve the entire motor at cruising speeds? At idle forward the boat is fine. Any speed above 30 is a problem. I'm new to boating and I know it's a simple question but to me it is not. Thank you for any help

RCAnderson

Seaman
Re: 1976 mercruiser 188 hp 302 overheats

With 180 as normal temp, sounds like closed cooling ? Yes a worn impeller will cause an overheat. If closed cooling, when was the last time the heat exchanger was opened up and cleaned out ? Most closed cooling systems have a 160 deg thermostat, not 180.

hivoltg

Petty Officer 2nd Class

I recommend you change the water pump impeller.

Remember water boils at 212F. A 230F motor is not good for its life span or parts.

Bass4fun

Recruit

Wow that was fast and I thank you for it. Here's some more information I just received. The out drive was replaced with one off another boat. I guess a parts boat. No real answer to how old the drive is let alone what the impeller looks like. Someone else I talked with said if the drive is a question, start there. Possible mud dobbers or other blockage in lower unit. I guess with everyone leading in that direction, ill get a maual and tear down Lower unit to see what's inside. The boat is a beauty and well worth repairing. I will keep you posted on progress. Thanks to everyone who answered.

haulnazz15

Captain