Low Voltage At Fuel Pump

jeffnangela

Cadet
I'm restoring a Blackfin with a 454 Marine Power inboard. I have done all the routine maintenance for winterization and when I tried to start her up she would not start. I have traced the culprit to be the fuel pump (no gas to carb). It is an electric fuel pump that pumps great with 12 volts applied with a jumper from the battery. It is wired through an oil pressure switch that contains three wires.<br /><br />With the key in the ON position I have the following voltages at the oil pressure switch:<br />Red/ yellow: 12.6 volts<br />Yellow/ red: 0<br />Red: 0<br /><br />With the key in the start position I have the following voltages:<br />Red/ yellow: 10.5+ Volts<br />Yellow/ Red: 10.6+ Volts<br />Red (at fuel pump): 3-4 Volts<br /><br />My gut tells me that the pressure switch is most likely the culprit, but I have limited experience with inboards. According to the Marine Power manual it says to first check for 12 volts at the fuel pump (which I do not have, I only have 4 volts at best with the key in the start position) and then check the pressure switch next. The level of oil on the dipstick is also within normal level.<br />Where do I go from here? Will a faulty oil pressure switch cause these problems or do I have other problems?

Don S

Honorary Moderator Emeritus
Re: Low Voltage At Fuel Pump

It's either rusted and corroded terminals or a bad switch.

Silvertip

Supreme Mariner